CakePHP soon as Pear Package?

Mustapha tries to create a Pear package of CakePHP. Up to now he was not successful. He writes in his post:

…I tried to see if it is easy to make cakephp into a pear package. The first problem I see is the ROOT constant which is used in many places in the framework (32 times in 7 files. I’m using the latest version: 0.10.5.1790 RC 1). It makes the separation between the application and cake not easy because it is used by both.

Personally, I do not know if it will be possible to create such a package since CakePHP was not designed for such a scenario. Anyway, good luck, Mustapha!

2 Comments

  1. Posted January 16, 2006 at 2:48 pm | Permalink

    Let me ask a question: What would be the advantage of having CakePHP as a PEAR package?

  2. Posted January 16, 2006 at 7:19 pm | Permalink

    I think there is no real advantage, but it would be convenient for users who already use Pear.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] It seems that Mustapha had success with creating a Pear package for CakePHP (here my earlier post about his attempts). He writes in his post: I created a pear package from all files in CakePHP project and added some scripts to make the creation and the deployment of projects and applications easier. […]

