Don’t use special characters in your root password

Today, I learned that it is not really a good idea to use special characters in a root password. I have had an “at” sign in the root password of my machine. Everything worked fine. Up to the update of today. It messed up my system: the mouse didn’t work (and still doesn’t), and the keyboard layout was not recognized after the update. And so it was no longer possible to login as root as I couldn’t enter the “at” sign.
After some searching in the internet I found a hint that it is possible to change the root password when the system is started in single user mode. So I restarted my machine and saw that there is a recovery mode. In this recovery mode I was fortunately able to login as root, and could change the password.

2 Comments

  1. Posted April 12, 2006 at 7:25 pm | Permalink

    That’s the strangest thing I’ve ever heard of. We constantly use special characters in all our passwords where I work. Maybe it’s just a bug?

  2. Posted April 13, 2006 at 7:52 am | Permalink

    Yeah, it is really strange. And yes, I think it is some sort of a bug.


